Emma Explains….. ISO14001

Welcome to our first Emma Explains blog! ESL’s newest member of the team explains in brief ISO 14001.

ISO 14001 is an internationally recognised Environment Management System standard which provides organisations of all sizes with a framework to protect the environment and improve their environmental performance through more efficient use of their resources and reduction of waste, gaining a competitive advantage.

ISO 14001 is made up of 22 sub clauses within 10 high level clauses. Clauses 1- 3 describe the Standard. Clauses 4-10 contain the requirements that an organisation must meet.

The approach underlying an EMS is the concept of ‘Plan-Do-Check-Act’ (the Deming cycle), which is integrated into the requirements of the standard. This provides an iterative process to achieve continual improvement:
• Plan – establish objectives and processes necessary to deliver results
• Do – implement the processes established in the planning stage
• Check – monitor and measure processes including commitments, objectives and operating criteria, and report the results
• Act – act to continually improve

At Environmental Strategies Limited we can help you to get the most value from your ISO 14001 system by:
• Identifying cost-saving opportunities in waste, water and energy;
• Helping meet legal compliance requirements;
• Improving your green credentials to retain and win new work;
• Assisting you to reassure staff/customers they are working for an environmental friendly business.

Read one of our current client case studies, visit our ISO14001 page and contact us to find out more.

What the ISO 14001 deadline extension actually means
Happy New Year for 2019!